TAP
6 rue de la Marne
86000 Poitiers

Presentation

The Poitiers Film Festival has chosen to headline its Portuguese summer program by shining the spotlight on the second feature by Miguel Gomes, one of the great authors of contemporary Portuguese cinema. Aquele querido mês de agosto is a summer film par excellence with its inventiveness, charm, and detours. It starts out as a documentary in the month of August in mountain villages before gradually weaving together a fictional story played by the inhabitants themselves. At the crossroads of reality and invention, following the rhythm of the words of songs played at village dances and regional legends, this solar and joyful film inspires the young filmmakers of today.

Screening preceded by a presentation of the film led by Thibaut Bracq and the directors of Mourir à Ibiza (un film en trois étés).

Aquele querido mês de agosto

Miguel Gomes

In the heart of the Portuguese mountains, the population and its activities surge in the month of August. People return home, set off fireworks, manage forest fires, sing karaoke, attend village dances… A young girl is in love with her cousin; her father doesn’t approve.

Schedule / places

    • 18:00
    • TAP Castille
    • 14:00
    • TAP Castille
    • Presentation

Miguel Gomes

Born in 1972, Miguel Gomes studied at the “Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema” in Lisbon before working as a film critic. He directed his first feature, A Cara que mereces, in 2004. Since then, he is renowned as one of the most important authors of Portuguese films in recent years, such as Tabu, which catapulted him to the worldwide scene in 2012, the trilogy As Mil e Uma Noites, and more recently, Diários de Otsoga, co-directed in 2020 with Maureen Fazendeiro.

TAP
6 rue de la Marne
86000 Poitiers

Présentation

En tête de sa programmation portugaise, le Poitiers Film Festival choisit de mettre à l’honneur le deuxième long métrage de Miguel Gomes, l’un des grands auteurs du cinéma contemporain du Portugal. Ce cher mois d’août est par excellence un film de l’été. Il en a l’inventivité, le charme et les détours. Il commence comme un documentaire dans le mois d’août des villages des montagnes avant de tisser, petit à petit, une fiction jouée par les habitants eux-mêmes. À la croisée du réel et de l’invention, au rythme des paroles de chansons des bals populaires et des légendes régionales, ce film solaire et réjouissant inspire les jeunes réalisateurs d’aujourd’hui.

Projection précédée d’une présentation du film animée par Thibaut Bracq et les réalisateurs de Mourir à Ibiza (un film en trois étés).

Ce cher mois d’août

Aquele querido mês de agosto | Miguel Gomes

Au cœur du Portugal montagnard, le mois d’août décuple la population et ses activités. Les gens rentrent au pays, tirent des feux d’artifice, contrôlent les incendies, font du karaoké, dansent dans les bals. Une jeune fille est amoureuse de son cousin, son père s’y oppose.

Horaires / lieux

    • 18:00
    • TAP Castille
    • 14:00
    • TAP Castille
    • Présentation

Miguel Gomes

Né en 1972, Miguel Gomes fait ses études à la Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema de Lisbonne, avant de travailler comme critique de cinéma. Il réalise son premier long métrage La Gueule que tu mérites en 2004. Depuis, il est reconnu comme l’un des auteurs de films portugais les plus importants des dernières années, comme Tabou qui le fait connaitre à l’international en 2012, la trilogie Les Mille et une nuit, et plus récemment Journal de Tûoa, coréalisé en 2020 avec Maureen Fazendeiro.